Saturday, May 25, 2013

Spotlight and Giveaway: The Color Keepers by Catriona Crehan

Book Info-
Title: The Color Keepers
Author: Catriona Crehan
Expected Publication Date-May 1st

Blurb-
Hoping to have a good change and good ending to go with it, Emily, a 16- year-old girl from Ohio, has moved to sunny California.
Moving to a new town can be scary, especially a new school. So when Sam, the most popular kid there, looks her way, she can’t believe this is happening to her.
Everything seems to be working out fine. That is, until her mother buys an enchanted mirror by mistake.
Suddenly, Emily finds herself in a whole new world, full of talking animals, magic and more change than she was hoping for.With the help of her new crush, Sam, and her annoyingly goofy 12-year-old brother James, Emily sets out to save their world and ours.

Excerpt

Damien flew through the window.
“Your Majesty!” I looked him over and saw his feathers ruffled dirty. His eyes were wide, and he sounded severely out of breath. “Yes, Damien? What have you seen?”
“Your sister! She hurt the Emily lady and the green keeper led her to safety. She has obtained the first key! What shall we do?”
“WHAT? She’s stronger than I thought! How could she have gotten the first key already? That’s impossible!”
“She has! She passed the green spirits character test! What are we going to do?”
"We’re going to have to intercept her at the Blue Spirit. That will most likely be her next destination. Let’s go.”I will find her and end it now. I cannot risk her getting another key. It will be my own undoing.

 Links

Kindle
Goodreads
Facebook
Twitter
Blog
Author's Goodreads


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, May 24, 2013

SAE Featured Friday Spotlight and Giveaway: Authors Lila Felix and Juliana Haygert

It's busy around here today!  In case  you haven't figured it out, I am one of the official bloggers for the Stamford Author Event.  The SAE is happening on August 10, 2013 at the Hilton in Stamford, CT.  35 awesome authors will be there, as well as a few amazing bloggers like myself, and admission is FREE!!!  Yep you heard me, FREE!  These Featured Friday posts are highlighting the authors that will be there, their books, and the official bloggers for the event as well.  Get to know the authors, and bloggers, and then join us in Stamford in August! 

 First up this week is the awesome Juliana Haygert, author of Destiny's Gift and Breaking the Reins, which will be released in August 2013. 


DESTINY GIFT
Genre: NA paranormal romance
Word Count: 73,000
Release date: April 1st, 2013
Blurb

Thirty years in the future, a sinister New York City exists in permanent darkness.
A student at the secured NYU, nineteen-year-old Nadine has visions of Victor Gianni, an imaginary guy she has real feelings for. Afraid of being truly insane, she explains the visions away as simple daydreams, but she can no longer deny them when she bumps into Victor in real life. But this Victor doesn’t know her, and turns her away. After the encounter, Nadine’s visions change to those of eerie fates, gods she’s never heard of, demons with sharp claws they are not too timid to use … and instructions. To discover if she’s losing her mind, Nadine follows the vague directions—with the real, rude and reluctant Victor—leading to a man who knows it all: Nadine can restore an ancient creed by unveiling the clues on her visions, and bring sunlight and peace to the world again. But that’s only if the demons and the other evil forces behind the darkness don’t stop her 
 
Destiny's Gift is only .99 through June 2nd!!  I could not put this book down once I started it.  You should definitely check it out.  
 


Title: Breaking the Reins
Genre: NA contemporary romance
Release date: aug 2013
Blurb
Horses, mansions, tea parties, and lies are twenty-year-old Hannah Taylor’s life. To others, her family and her relationship with Eric is perfect. But she knows the truth. She lives it.

After a fire takes her grandma's life and kills her horse, Hannah's immaculate life spirals out of control. Her father disapproves of her decision to run her grandma’s ranch instead of focusing solely on learning the family business; Animal Control brings her Argus, a mistreated horse that she can't turn away even though she's not ready for another horse; and her boyfriend, Eric Bennett, a world famous polo player, becomes possessive and authoritarian. Despite her best efforts to disguise it, Hannah grows wary of him.

Then, Leonardo Fernandes struts onto the polo scene. A cocky rookie with a messy life of his own, he’s drawn to Hannah and isn’t afraid of showing it, even when Eric makes it clear she is his and he’ll do whatever it takes to keep it that way. Hannah suffers for Eric’s jealousy. The abuse only gets worse when Leo steals the title of best polo player in the world from Eric.

But the title isn’t enough for Leo. He wants Hannah too, and she can’t deny her attraction to him either. Somehow, she must find a way to break free from abusive Eric before he breaks every bone in her body.
 
 
 Author Bio
 
 While Juliana Haygert dreams of being Wonder Woman, Buffy, or a blood elf shadow priest, she settles for the less exciting—but equally gratifying—life of a wife, mother, and author. Thousands of miles away from her former home in Brazil, she now resides in Connecticut and spends her days writing about kick-ass heroines and the heroes who drive them crazy.
 
 
You can also check out my review of Destiny's Gift here.   


The last author for this week's SAE Featured Friday, is Lila Felix.  I have not read any of her books yet, but I hope too soon.  They look great!

Author Bio
 
Lila Felix made the decision to write a book after being encouraged by friends.  She is a stay at home mom to three wild children and three boisterous dogs.  Between writing books, she loves to read and watch sappy 80s movies.  Favorite things:  ice cream, anything purple, roller derby, and any kind of music she can get her hands on.  If you're looking for her, try looking under Cypress trees in the swamps of Louisiana.

Lila is the author of Seeking Havok, Hoax, Perchance, Emerge, and The Love and Skate series.  

 
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spotlight, Review, and Kindle Giveaway: Geoducks are for Lovers by Daisy Prescott


Hello all my book friends!  Happy Friday and Happy Memorial Day Weekend!  Pretty in Pink working with Tasty Tours has a spotlight and review of Geoducks are for Lovers by Daisy Prescott.  Daisy is also one of the great authors who will be attending the Stamford Author Event in August.  She was one of my Featured Friday authors last week, as official blogger for the SAE, and you should check out that post if you missed it!  You can also check out my cover reveal post to see what a geoduck looks like and for correct pronunciation! 

Blurb

Food writer Maggie Marrion is just getting back on her feet after a horrible year, or two, or three.  With their twentieth reunion approaching, she invites four of her closest friends from college for a weekend at her beach cabin.  What she doesn't expect is her best friends, artist Quinn Dayton and part-time erotica novelist, Selah Elmore, to play matchmaker.  The two plot a surprise that will make the weekend, and her life, a lot more interesting.  
Gil Morrow, former grunge musician turned history professor, joins them as Selah's date for the weekend.  After coming face to face with the one who got away, he decides he's waited long enough to get the girl.  With the support of old friends, a few wishing rocks, the world's largest burrowing clam, and a hot lumberjack thrown into the mix, Gil reminds Maggie that forty something isn't too old for second chances.
Can we learn to love the life we have and let go of who we expected to be?  What happens with these generation X-ers as they share laughter, tears, life's ups and downs, old stories and new beginnings.
Excerpt

“We’ll see how the night goes.”
            “Is that a challenge, Maggie May?” Gil leans forward and catches her eye, then puts his hand on her leg above her knee, and squeezes.
            The heat of his hand warms her and her muscles clench.
            “Maybe.”
            Gil licks the corner of his mouth. “Good to know.” Leaning back, he keeps his hand on her thigh.
            Mentally, Maggie fans herself. The fire in front of her isn’t the only one she’s playing with tonight.
            Quinn and Ryan eventually make their way out to join the group on the beach, carrying the s’mores supplies along with metal skewers from the kitchen.
            “I can’t believe I’m offering this after the meat feast, but who wants dessert?” Ryan gestures the platter of goodies.
            “I’ll never turn down chocolate or Nutella.” Selah gets up to grab a skewer and marshmallow.
            “I need to taste Maggie’s Nutella s’more,” Gil says, squeezing her leg. “Mind making me one?”
            “If I can stand, sure.” She pushes off the sand, using Gil’s leg to prop herself up.
            “Charred or not charred?” She waves a marshmallow in front of Gil.
            “Charred, of course.” He grins.
            “Heathen,” she teases and sticks the marshmallow directly into the flames. Pulling the flaming ball of goo out of the fire, she blows on it before handing the skewer to Gil. ‘Hold this, and no eating it.”
             Carefully grabbing a graham crack, she smears on a dollop of Nutella, and then places the charred marshmallow on top before adding another cracker.
            She licks a big dollop of Nutella off the side, getting some of the warm chocolate on the corner of her mouth.
            “Here.” She hands him the sticky mess, noticing that Gil shifts his legs and squirms.
            “You missed a spot.” He gestures to her lips before biting the s’more.
            Maggie licks her lips, trying to get off the Nutella. She glances at Gil, who closes his eyes and moans.
            “Good?”
            “Mmmm…. Hhmmmm… mmmmm” is all that comes out of him. Still with his eyes closed he reaches up to swipe off the Nutella from chin with his thumb. It’s Maggie’s turn to quietly moan as she watches him lick his thumb.
            “Food porn as foreplay?” Quinn asks as he sticks his own marshmallow into the flames next to Maggie.
            “What?” She asks, completely unaware of where she is.
            “You have it so bad.” Selah chimes in from behind her. “Move out of the way or toast another marshmallow.” She bumps Maggie with her hip.
            “More,” Gil says, opening one eye as he pops the last of the s’more into his mouth.
            “Best s’more ever?” Maggie asks, grabbing another marshmallow.
            “Best ever.” Gil winks. “More.”
            “Greedy.” She chars another marshmallow.
            The rest of the gang is likewise toasting and moaning over their creations.
            “Where was this when I used to smoke pot?” Quinn asks.
            “I’m grateful Nutella wasn’t around in college. I’d be as big as a house,” Jo says, eating a perfectly toasted but not charred marshmallow.
            Maggie hands Gil another s’more, which he snatches from her like a starving man.
            “You okay there, big guy? Can I make one for myself now?”
            Gil gives her a stink eye but nods his head, his mouth too full to respond verbally.
            Maggie sits back down next to Gil with her own s’more. She takes a bite, closes her eyes and moans. She can’t help herself.
            When she opens her eyes, she catches Gil licking the s’more right before biting it.
            “What the hell?” She tries to save her s’more from his greedy mouth, but he is too quick.
            “It was dripping and going to land on your shirt. I was trying to be a gentleman and protect your clothing.”
            Maggie stares at him.
            “Not buying it?”
            “No.” She licks her lips where the melted marshmallow makes them sticky. She watches Gil staring at her lips.
            “Can I help you with that?” He offers, his eyes flicking to her mouth, then back up to her eyes.
            “I think I’ve got it.”
            “I’m not sure about that.” He reaches out his index finger, swipes under her bottom lip, and shows her the chocolate.

Author Bio

Before writing full time, Daisy Prescott worked in the world of art, auctions, antiques, and home decor. She earned her degree in Art History and endured a brief stint as a film theory graduate student. Baker, art educator, antiques dealer, blue ribbon pie maker, blogger, content wrangler, freelance writer, fangirl, gardener, wife, and pet mom are a few of the other titles she’s acquired over the years.
Born and raised in San Diego, Daisy and her husband (aka SO) currently live in a real life Stars Hollow in the Boston suburbs with their dog, Hubbell, and an imaginary house goat. Geoducks Are for Lovers is her debut novel. She is busy researching her second novel.
Links
  

My Review

*I keep my reviews short and sweet and I do not post spoilers*

Geoducks are for Lovers is a thoroughly entertaining read.  It has a great storyline, perfect for that summer beach read, and Daisy has given the characters a unique sense of humor.  I could easily believe that the characters have known each other for years as the dialogue was exactly what you would expect from a group of friends who have not seen each other for a long time who get together for a reunion.  I give Geoducks 4 stars and definitely reccommend you check it out!  

Tourwide Kindle Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Review: Raksha by Frankie Rose

Pretty in Pink, working with Girl's Heart Books Tours is excited to have a review of Frankie Rose's new Dystopian novel Raksha. 

For those of you who just said "Huh?  What's Dystopian fiction?" according to Questia.com it is, "a genre of fictional writing used to explore social and political structures in a dark, nightmare world." 

Yeah, I had no clue either!

Blurb

She has no name. 
She has her knives; her training; her halo. 
The first and second give her the tools and the skill to defeat the opponents she is pitched against each month. The third frees her from pain and fear. From any kind of emotion at all. Everything is as it should be. Everything is as it should be, until… FearPainAngerHappinessDesireGuilt
Love.
When a newly-named Kit escapes the Sanctuary after killing her best friend, the last thing she needs is another knife in her hand. Or Ryka, the damaged, beautiful blonde boy, who she refuses to let save her. Still learning how to process the onslaught of her new feelings, the sights and sounds of Freetown are overwhelming and strange. There are a hundred differences between her old home and her new one, but one thing remains starkly similar: the matches. Yet where the blood in the Sanctuary landed only on the colosseum floor, Kit will quickly learn that a river of red runs through Freetown’s very streets. 
Freed from the oppression of a society who stole her right to feel, the true horror of her old life leaves Kit wondering if she really has been freed at all. Would she be better off without the crippling horror of all the blood on her hands, or is the love of one boy worth living through all the pain?
Raksha is the call of the dead. The rumbling chant for fresh blood from the other side, the demand for sacrifice. The colosseum is behind Kit. The fighting pits await.
You have been called to the fights.

Author's Bio
 
 Frankie Rose was born in the United Kingdom, but now lives with her husband in sunny Australia. 
She officially makes things up for a living, and when she's not doing that, she is generally making paper birds out of receipts and old lists or taking photographs that make her smile. 

My Review
 
*My usual disclaimer:  I do not post spoilers, and I like to keep my reviews short and sweet.*
This was my first book to read by Frankie Rose, and I will definitely be reading more.  In fact, I have already signed up for another tour/reviews of books she wrote.  The story reminded me from the very beginning of The Hunger Games, but there were enough differences for me to still enjoy as a new story.  I liked the strong female character, who strayed from the "norm" for a girl.  All in all, a very good read, I would definitely recommend. 


Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Cover Reveal: Prince of Darkness by Beth Ann Masarik



First up for today, Pretty in Pink working with Read Between the Lines, has the cover reveal for Beth Ann Masrarik's upcoming release, Prince of Darkness.  Also, make sure to check back later today as I will be posting a 300 likes giveaway!  


Title: Prince of Darkness (Book 1)
Author: Beth Ann Masarik
Series: The World Among Us
Genre: Mature YA/Urban Fantasy/Romance
Publisher: Hydra Publications
Release Date: Summer 2013 (exact date TBA)

Blurb
 
Hades is hell-bent on taking over the world, but in order to do so, he has to remove his nemesis, Gaia from power.  But one thing stands in the way and she goes by the name of Selene.
Cue Damien, son of Hades and Persephone.  He happens to be in love with Selene, and will stop at nothing to make sure that she is safe even though their love is forbidden.  Furious with his son’s treachery, Hades tricks Damien into killing the only woman that he has ever loved.  He does so by telling Damien that he will spend the rest of his eternal life in the Fields of Asphodel if he does not prove his loyalty.  Torn between his un-beating heart and his family, Damien does the only thing a true demon prince knows how: killing those closest to him.
Will Damien follow through with his father’s evil scheme?  Or will he be banished to the Fields of Asphodel for his treachery?


Author Bio
 
Beth Ann Masarik is a Young Adult author and writer, indie publisher, and youth advocate. She writes Young Adult fantasy and urban fantasy novels that are mostly about forbidden romance and have some sort of magical creatures in them. Her debut novel, The World Among Us: Prince of Darkness was first published with Otherworld Publications. Unfortunately, OWP closed on December 31, 2012, and the book is no longer available. However, she has signed with Hydra Publications, and it will be released sometime in 2013. You can visit her author website at www.bethannmasarik.com and the series website at www.theworldamongussaga.com for more details on my publishing adventures.

As a youth advocate, she, along with her new husband, is one of the adult coordinators of the Our Lady of Fatima youth group that is supported by the current pastor and the parents of the kids in the group.

In addition to writing, she also publishes a bi-monthly e-zine called Literary Lunes Magazine. It is offered as a free black and white e-copy and also offers a low-cost full colored paperback copy of each issue. For more information, please visit the magazine website at www.literarylunespublications.com 

 Links

Monday, May 20, 2013

Cover reveal: Icarus Rise by Frankie Rose

Title-Icarus Rise 
By- Frankie Rose
Expected-Autumn 2013
Genre-New Adult

Blurb
Iris Breslin is on a mission with only one goal:  escape Breakwater, Wyoming, where her family's horrific history is common knowledge.  New York couldn't be more different to get small town upbringing, but better still, absolutely no one at Syracuse University knows of the brutal murders her father committed before taking his own life when she was fourteen years old.  For the first time, Iris has friends, a career plan, a regular life.
Until Jake.
Jake Stafford grew up in Breakwater.  Discovering Charlie Breslin's body on his first day as a cop may have snared Jake in the Breslin family nightmare, but the truth is that he was involved long before.  Now a part of the NYPD, Jake remains entangled in the five year old mystery- a mystery he intends to solve.  That isn't going to be an easy task, especially with Iris back in his life.  Jake must fight to convince the girl he loves that his feelings are genuine, and not some sick obsession with a man who once helped him when no one else would.  His hidden secrets are darker than Iris can possibly imagine, but can she drop her guard long enough to uncover them? 

Author Bio

As a child, I was always accused of being bookish because I wore glasses- big, horrible, ugly ones with too-thick lenses. Those kids, the super smart ones who always know which tender insecurities to poke at in order to provoke life-long complexes, used to accuse me of reading too many books and that my eyes were going to rot out of my head (their words, not mine!)
The truth of the matter was a little more embarrassing: I used to sit too close to the T.V. That was the reason why I had to wear glasses, but kids don’t really care about small, insignificant details like the truth, and so I was labelled a nerd. The label kinda stuck, and after some sage advice from my awesome nana (nana, you rock!) I decided that if I was going to be abused for my supposed literary obsession, I might as well develop one.
I guess that’s how I got into books and reading at an early age. Since then, I’ve been ripping through books like they’re going out of fashion, which, thankfully, they’re not. Good thing, too, because I’m a writer now, and books are my business!
Thank you to everyone who has supported and encouraged me on my journey- look for your names in the acknowledgements!

Links